Celebrating our colleagues

Reading time: 2 minutes

Each month, Bulletin highlights and celebrates the achievements of our fellow staff members. Congratulations to all involved.


Since Bulletin last published, congratulations include those to:

Professor Rob Dunbar, Chair of Celtic Languages, Literature, History and Antiquities, has been elected to the Committee of Experts of the European Charter for Regional or Minority Languages. The Charter is one of two Council of Europe treaties that provide protection to linguistic minorities/speakers of minority languages, and is the only treaty in international law that exclusively addresses minority languages. Twenty-five Council of Europe countries, including the UK, have ratified the Charter. Professor Dunbar worked on the Charter and has been an expert of the Council of Europe in relation to minority languages for more than twenty years. He was nominated by the UK government and elected by the Committee of Ministers to serve on the Committee of Experts.


Dr Peadar Ó Muircheartaigh, Senior Lecturer in Celtic Linguistics, has received the Jack Medal alongside Professor Nigel Leask of the University of Glasgow. The medal was awarded by the International Association for the Study of Scottish Literatures, for their article ‘Co-ainm na taca seo an-uiridh’: ‘Dugald MacNicol’s Caribbean Lament for Argyll’ (Studies in Scottish Literature 47:2). The medal was awarded in recognition of the extensive primary research and in appreciation of the article’s cross-cultural approach, which provides an original and important perspective on a complex and pivotal chapter in Scotland’s colonial history.


Professor Grant Jarvie, Chair of Sport and Director of the Academy of Sport, moderated the seventh staging of the Commonwealth Debate on Sport and Sustainable Development. The event, hosted in collaboration with the University, discussed sport’s contribution to physical, mental and environmental health. Dr Walker Ross, Lecturer, Moray House School of Education and Sport, and Professor Corinne Reid, Professorial Fellow with the Global Health Academy and the Academy of Sport, participated in the debate.

Two teams at the University received Royal Society of Edinburgh Mary Somerville Medals. PeaceRep, which includes colleagues from the Schools of Law and Informatics and from Information Services, received a medal for its pivotal role in bringing peace and conflict organisations together and supporting digital peace processes. The interdisciplinary EAVE II team, comprising public health experts, academics, data scientists and public members across Scotland, received a medal for its work to generate scientific analyses and insights that supported evidence-informed policy and public health during the Covid-19 pandemic. The team developed a real-time surveillance platform to monitor and forecast the evolving pandemic in Scotland.


Dr Lara Kalnins, Royal Society of Edinburgh Independent Research Fellow in the School of GeoSciences, received an individual RSE Rosemary Hutton Medal for her work to address fundamental geodynamic problems, combining new data, analysis and modelling, and forging collaboration in many different fields, to bring depth and insight to her investigations.


Please get in touch with us to let us know about any awards you or your colleagues have received. You can email us at bulletin@ed.ac.uk