Chancellor’s Award winners announced

Reading time: 2 minutes

The University has honoured four staff members with Chancellor’s Awards for their teaching and research excellence and outstanding contribution.

Dr Lisa Kendall, Professor Kenneth Baillie, Dr Georgia Cole, and Dr Ross Galloway are this year’s Chancellor’s Award winners and were congratulated by the Chancellor, Her Royal Highness The Princess Royal, and the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Peter Mathieson, at a gala dinner held at the Palace of Holyroodhouse recently.

Established in 2003, the Chancellor’s Awards reward staff in four categories for teaching, research, outstanding contribution and showing great potential in early career teaching and/or research.

Outstanding Contribution

Dr Lisa Kendall, Director of Academic & Student Administration in the College of Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences, was awarded the Chancellor’s Award for Outstanding Contribution in recognition of her instrumental leadership and hard work in spearheading a fundamental change in student support in the College of Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences in 2021/22.


Professor Kenneth Baillie holds a Personal Chair in Experimental Medicine and is based in the Baillie Gifford Pandemic Science Hub in the Centre for Inflammation Research. Kenny received the Chancellor’s Award for Research award in recognition of the substantial impact of his collegial research approach and his advocacy, which ensured the leverage of novel genetic findings into clinical trials during the Covid-19 pandemic.

Rising Star

Dr Georgia Cole is a Chancellor’s Fellow based in Social Work in the School of Social & Political Science, and received the Rising Star Chancellor’s Award for her transformative contribution to teaching. In particular, for her work in the area of Foundations for All, and her development of an innovative study skills programme for social work students.


Dr Ross Galloway is the Director of Teaching, and a Senior Lecturer in the School of Physics & Astronomy. Ross received the Chancellor’s Award for Teaching for his exemplary leadership across all aspects of teaching in the School.

Find out more about the Chancellor’s Awards.

Photography: Jane Barlow