Celebrating our colleagues – January

Reading time: 2 minutes

Each month, Bulletin highlights and celebrates the achievements of our fellow staff members. Congratulations to all involved.


Several colleagues have been awarded Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC) Grants, part of UK Research and Innovation (UKRI).

Dr Julie Gibbings, Lecturer in the History of the Americas in the School of History, Classics & Archaeology, has been awarded an AHRC Grant for a collaborative project in Guatemala.
Dr Gibbings – in collaboration with Feliciana Herrera Sti’Pop, and Alejandro Flores – will work with Ixil youth in the region on histories of the spaces of insurrection, terror, exile and refuge during Guatemala’s genocidal civil war for a period of 30 months beginning in February, 2023.

Dr Arkotong Longkumer, Senior Lecturer in Modern Asia in the School of Divinity, has received an AHRC grant for a project titled Decolonising the Museum: Digital Repatriation of the Gaidinliu Collection from the UK to India (DiMuse).
The grant will involve a number of activities – a film documentary, a graphic novel, and a bespoke online exhibition with 3D objects curated onto a website.

Professor Ewa Luger, Director of Research Innovation at Edinburgh College of Art and Professor Shannon Vallor, Baillie Gifford Chair in the Ethics of Data and Artificial Intelligence at the Edinburgh Futures Institute, have received an AHRC grant to lead a project to ensure artificial intelligence (AI) and data are used responsibly and ethically across society and industry. They will direct the £3.5 million programme Enabling a Responsible AI Ecosystem in collaboration with the Ada Lovelace Institute.


Dr Peter Bankhead, Reader at Edinburgh Pathology, has received the Award for Data Analysis in Imaging from the Royal Microscopical Society (RMS) in recognition of his creation and development of the software QuPath.

Dr Audrey Cameron, Chancellor’s Fellow at Moray House School of Education & Sport, has been invited to become an Honorary Fellow at the Royal Society of Chemistry.

Dr Leah Macaden, Senior Lecturer in the School of Health in Social Science, was recently inducted as a Fellow of the American Academy of Nursing. Dr Macaden was one of 250 nurse leaders from around the world and one of only four senior academic nurses in the UK to be awarded this prestigious award in December.

Professor John Peacock, in the School of Physics and Astronomy received the Gold Medal in Astronomy from the Royal Astronomical Society in recognition of his outstanding contributions to cosmology.

Dr Rebecca Saleeb, Postdoctoral Researcher in the School of Chemistry, has been awarded the Lady Edith Wolfson Non-Clinical Research Fellowship by the Motor Neurone Disease (MND) Association.

Please get in touch with us to let us know about any awards you or your colleagues have received. You can email us at bulletin@ed.ac.uk