Celebrating our colleagues – 27 October

Reading time: 2 minutes

Each month, Bulletin highlights and celebrates the latest prizes awarded to our fellow staff members. Congratulations to all involved.

The University has received a Fairtrade Award for the eighteenth year. The Fairtrade University and College Award recognises staff and student activities to support workers around the world.

Three academics associated with the School of Engineering have been elected as Fellows of the Royal Academy of Engineering in recognition of their role as leading lights of the engineering community.

Head of School, Professor Conchúr Ó Brádaigh and recent Royal Academy of Engineering Visiting Professor, Uwe Stein, have been elected as Fellows of the Royal Academy of Engineering, while the School’s Honorary Graduand, Professor Andrea Goldsmith of Princeton University, has been elected as an International Fellow. They were among 72 new Fellows elected.

Professor Catherine Bovill, Professor of Student Engagement in Higher Education in the Institute for Academic Development, has received a National Teaching Fellowship in recognition of her outstanding work in the field of learning, teaching and curriculum co-creation. The scheme, which is administered by Advance HE, celebrates and recognises individuals who have made an outstanding impact on student outcomes and the teaching profession in Higher Education.

Kobi Gal, reader in Artificial Intelligence and Human-Machine Intelligence at the School of Informatics, has been elected a 2022 EurAI Fellow by the European Association for Artificial Intelligence (EurAI) for his contributions promoting AI research in Europe.

Professor Royston Greenwood, who holds a Professorial Fellowship at the Business School, is one of 54 newly elected societal Fellows to the Royal Society of Canada in recognition of his exceptional contribution, both nationally and internationally, in his field.

Professor Cristina Iannelli, Personal Chair of Education and Social Stratification at the Moray House School of Education and Sport, has been elected a Fellow of the British Academy for a distinguished contribution to research. Professor Iannelli joins a community of more than 1,600 leading minds, which includes classicist Professor Dame Mary Beard, the historian Professor Rana Mitter and philosopher Professor Baroness Onora O’Neill.

Professor Richard Morris, from the Centre for Discovery Brain Sciences, has been awarded the Ferrier Medal from the Royal Society in recognition of his achievements in advancing the understanding of the physiological and psychological processes underlying memory.

Professor Shannon Vallor, Baillie Gifford Chair in the Ethics of Data and Artificial Intelligence at Edinburgh Futures Institute, has been presented with the International Association for Computing and Philosophy (IACAP) Covey Award in recognition of her significant contribution to the field, both in academic as well as public spheres over the last two decades.

Please get in touch with us to let us know about any awards you or your colleagues have received. You can email us at bulletin@ed.ac.uk