Celebrating our colleagues – 14 June

Reading time: 2 minutes
Each fortnight, Bulletin highlights and celebrates the latest prizes awarded to our fellow staff members. Congratulations to all involved.


A number of University scientists have been recognised with prestigious Royal Society of Chemistry Prizes:

  • Professor Paul Attfield, Professor of Materials Science at Extreme Conditions, has been named winner of the Royal Society of Chemistry’s John B Goodenough Award.
  • Dr Michael Cowley, Senior Lecturer, has been named winner of the Royal Society of Chemistry’s Sir Geoffrey Wilkinson Award.
  • Dr Mathew Horrocks, Lecturer in Biophysical Chemistry, has been named winner of the Royal Society of Chemistry’s Joseph Black Award.
  • Professor Alison Hulme, Professor of Synthesis and Chemical Biology, has been named the winner of the Royal Society of Chemistry’s Award for Exceptional Service.
  • A team from Sunamp Ltd and the University of Edinburgh has been named winner of the Royal Society of Chemistry’s Industry-Academia Collaboration Award.


Professor Mark Harris, Professor of Natural Science and Theology at the School of Divinity has been elected as President of the European Society for the Study of Science and Theology (ESSSAT). As part of this role, Mark will be involved in a variety of tasks running the organisation, especially chairing the ESSSAT Council and the General Assembly, and collaborating with the organisation of their conferences, publications and deciding on conference themes.


Angela Mudge, who came to Edinburgh to undertake a PhD Chemistry, is one of three female athletes who have been inducted into the University’s Sports Hall of Fame. Angela is a Scottish, British and World Champion in hill and trail running.

Also inducted were alumni, Sarah Robertson, one of Scotland’s most talented and decorated hockey players, achieving serial success at club and international level, including medal glory at the Olympics and Hollie Davidson, a pioneering and inspirational role model who became Scottish Rugby’s first full-time female professional referee in 2017. Since then, she has officiated at the very highest level of the game including the Olympic and Commonwealth Games.


Please get in touch with us to let us know about any awards you or your colleagues have received. You can email us at bulletin@ed.ac.uk