Celebrating our colleagues – 15 February

Reading time: < 1 minute
Each fortnight, Bulletin highlights and celebrates the latest prizes awarded to our fellow staff members. Congratulations to all involved.


Andrew Horne, Professor of Gynaecology and Reproductive Sciences in the MRC Centre for Reproductive Health, and Philippa Saunders, Chair of Reproductive Steroids in the Centre for Inflammation Research have won the Tam Dalyell prize for excellence in engaging the public with science. The award is in recognition of their work on endometriosis, and their attention to lived experience and the needs of people with endometriosis in their research. In the Tam Dalyell Prize lecture at 6pm on 10 April, they’ll share how they are combining their clinical and research expertise with women’s experiences to find new ways to approach this devastating condition. The lecture will be held in the Playfair Library.


Professor Diana Paton has been appointed the first female Head of History. She is currently the William Robertson Professor of History specialising in Caribbean history including slavery.


Four Edinburgh academics have been appointed to the Department of Culture Media and Sport’s College of Experts. The experts are part of a cohort of 49 external experts from across academia and industry who will provide a mechanism for the department to access external expertise and guidance. Congratulations to Dr Orian Brook, Chancellor’s Fellow in Social Policy in the School of Social and Political Science, Dr Ewa Luger, Chancellor’s Fellow in Edinburgh College of Art, Mark Parsons, Professor of High Performance Computing in the College of Science and Engineering and Melissa Terras, Professor of Digital Cultural Heritage in the College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences.


Please get in touch with us to let us know about any awards you or your colleagues have received. You can email us at bulletin@ed.ac.uk