Celebrating our colleagues – 18 January

Reading time: 3 minutes
Each fortnight, bulletin highlights and celebrates the latest prizes awarded to our fellow staff members. Congratulations to all involved.


Kenneth Amaeshi’s MIND (Map, Identify, Negotiate, Develop) model was independently nominated by the Financial Reporting Council of Nigeria for the UNCTAD/International Standards of Accounting and Reporting Honours. Kenneth is Chair in Business and Sustainable Development and Director of the Sustainable Business Initiative in Edinburgh Business School


Dr Petros Bouras-Vallianatos, Wellcome Lecturer in History of Medicine in the School of History, Classics & Archaeology, has been jointly awarded the prestigious 2021 Book Prize for Young Historians by the International Academy of the History of Science for his book ‘Innovation in Byzantine Medicine: The Writings of John Zacharias Aktouarios (c.1275-c.1330)’, Oxford University Press, 2020. The award was made jointly with Anna Jerratsch for her work ‘Der Frühneuzeitliche Kometen-Diskurs im Spiegel der deutschsprachigen Flugschriften’ (Stuttgart, 2020).


Jeremy Crang’s book ‘Sisters in Arms: Women in the British Armed Forces during the Second World War’ was chosen by Professor Richard Overy, a leading expert in the history of warfare, as his book of 2021 for “Aspects of History”. Jeremy is Professor of Modern British History in the School of History, Classics & Archaeology. Professor Overy called his work, “an original story, scrupulously researched, full of information and extremely well-written”.


Dr Oliver Escobar, Senior Lecturer in Public Policy in the School of Social & Political Science, has been named in Apolitical’s 2021 Top 100 Most Influential Academics in Government list.

The list highlights work that has influenced the policymaking process by providing insights into policy problems; contributing innovative ideas and solutions; or adding relevant and informative data.

Dr Escobar has also been appointed Co-Chair of a World Health Organization editorial board that will support improved approaches for engaging citizens in policy making.


Dr Linda Fibiger, Senior Lecturer in Human Osteoarchaeology, has been awarded the Dragutin Gorjanović Kramberger Medal by the Croatian Anthropological Society. The award is given to individuals for their exceptional scientific achievements and contribution to anthropology in Croatia.


Royston Greenwood, Professorial Fellow in Edinburgh Business School, has received an accolade by Clarivate as being one of the most highly cited scholars in the world. He is in the top one per cent as measured by citations in Web of Science in the fields of Business and Economics. He also was runner up for the Academy of Management’s 2021 Award for Responsible Research in Management for his paper ‘From Grade to Violence: Stigmatizing the Medical Profession in China’.


Professor Catherine Heymans, Professor of Astrophysics in the School of Physics & Astronomy, has been recognised by the Royal Astronomical Society with the 2022 Herschel Medal for her ground-breaking analysis of the evolution of large-scale structures using weak gravitational lensing.


Dr Kirsten Jenkins, Lecturer in Energy, Environment and Society in the School of Social & Political Science has become a member of the Scottish Government’s new Scottish Fuel Poverty Advisory Panel, helping to tackle fuel poverty in Scotland. The panel will contribute to policy development to reduce fuel poverty and extreme fuel poverty in Scotland.


Professor Alex Murphy, Professor of Nuclear & Particle Astrophysics in the School of Physics & Astronomy, has been awarded the RSE Senior Public Engagement Medal and Dr XinRan Liu, STFC Research Fellow in the School of Physics & Astronomy has been awarded the 2021 Institute of Physics Mary Somerville Medal and Prize. They worked together on the Remote3 project, which delivers STEM outreach to some of the most remote areas of Scotland by helping pupils build and programme miniature Mars rovers that they can then remotely operate in an underground laboratory. The awards recognise contributions to communication, engagement and in advancing public discussion in science.


Professor Sotos Tsaftaris, Canon Medical/Royal Academy of Engineering Research Chair in Healthcare AI and Chair in Machine Learning and Computer Vision in the School of Engineering, has been appointed a Fellow of the European Lab for Learning and Intelligent Systems (ELLIS) – a European body that exists to promote excellence in research in machine learning and artificial intelligence (AI).


Please get in touch with us to let us know about any awards you or your colleagues have received. You can email us at bulletin@ed.ac.uk.