Celebrating our colleagues – 16 November

Reading time: < 1 minute
Each fortnight, bulletin highlights and celebrates the latest prizes awarded to our fellow staff members. Congratulations to all involved.

Professor Guy Lloyd-Jones, Forbes Chair of Organic Chemistry in the School of Chemistry, has been recognised with the Arthur C. Cope Later Career Scholars Award. This award recognises and encourages excellence in organic chemistry.

Jamie Pearce, Professor of Health Geography in the School of GeoSciences, has been awarded a fellowship of the Academy of Social Sciences. The Academy of Social Sciences is the national academy of academics, learned societies and practitioners in the social sciences. Its mission is to promote social science in the United Kingdom for public benefit. 

Mona Siddiqui, Assistant Principal Religion and Society and Professor of Islamic and Interreligious Studies in the School of Divinity, has been appointed Vice Principal International at the Royal Society of Edinburgh (RSE) as part of the new appointments joining the next president of RSE, Professor Sir John Ball.

Kristina Tamane, Space and Satellites Business Development Executive at the Bayes Centre, has been awarded the British Interplanetary Society Rising Star NextGen award. The award was designed to celebrate young, female rising stars within the UK space community.

Mathew Williams, Professor of Global Change Ecology in the School of GeoSciences will become the Scottish Government’s new Chief Scientific Adviser for Environment, Natural Resources and Agriculture. He will take up the position in January and will provide advice on the environment, agriculture and the rural economy.

Please get in touch with us to let us know about any awards you or your colleagues have received. You can email us at bulletin@ed.ac.uk.