Celebrating our colleagues – 14 July

Reading time: < 1 minute

Each fortnight bulletin highlights and celebrates the latest prizes awarded to our fellow staff members. Congratulations to all involved.

Professor Emilios Avgouleas, Chair of International Banking Law and Finance in Edinburgh Law School, has been invited to join the membership of the Monetary Committee of the International Law Association (Mocomila).

Dr Tayebeh Ameri, Senior Lecturer in Chemical Engineering, Dr Karen Donaldson, Research Associate in Robotics for Extreme Environments, Dr Katherine Dunn, Lecturer, and Dr Dipa Roy, Senior Lecturer in Composite Materials and Processing, all in the School of Engineering, have each been named in the Women’s Engineering Society’s Top 50 Women in Engineering in recognition of their work.

Dr XinRan Liu, STFC Research Fellow in the School of Physics & Astronomy and Dr Donald Slater, NERC Independent Research Fellow in the School of GeoSciences have both been recognised with the Award Lecturer prize for their areas of expertise by the British Science Association. Only seven academics received the award this year in recognition of their work and commitment to public engagement efforts.

The University has been recognised with the Peas Please Rising Star Award which celebrates the commitment of the Accommodation, Catering and Events team to a challenging pledge to increase the amount of vegetables in their food offerings across campus. Currently more than 50 per cent of meals are vegetarian or vegan. The award was announced by celebrity chef Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall last month and included competitors like national restaurant chain Zizzi.

Please get in touch with us to let us know about any awards you or your colleagues have received. You can email us at bulletin@ed.ac.uk.