Celebrating our colleagues – 8 June

Reading time: < 1 minute

Each fortnight bulletin highlights and celebrates the latest prizes awarded to our fellow staff members. Congratulations to all involved.

Jamie Davies, Professor of Experimental Anatomy in the Centre for Discovery Brain Sciences, has been awarded the inaugural Wolpert Medal from the British Society for Developmental Biology.

The new annual medal is in memory of Lewis Wolpert, who was one of the most prominent scientists in developmental biology. The award recognises an individual who has made extraordinary contributions to the teaching and communication of developmental biology.

Dr Katriona Edlmann, Chancellor’s Fellow in Energy in the School of GeoSciences, has been appointed Deputy Hydrogen Champion by the Energy Technology Partnership. The role will see her connect hydrogen researchers and industry across Scotland as well as supporting the Scottish Government.

Catherine Heymans, Professor of Astrophysics in the School of Physics & Astronomy, is the first woman to be appointed as Astronomer Royal for Scotland. The position dates back 200 years and Professor Heymans is the eleventh person to receive the title.

Please get in touch with us to let us know about any awards you or your colleagues have received. You can email us at bulletin@ed.ac.uk.