Celebrating our colleagues – 30 March

Reading time: < 1 minute

Each fortnight bulletin highlights and celebrates the latest prizes awarded to our fellow staff members. Congratulations to all involved.

Professor John Moore, David Hume University Chair of Economics in the School of Economics, is one of several academics receiving the prestigious 2020 BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award.

Professor Ian Deary, founding director of the Lothian Birth Cohorts, has been named Professor Emeritus of Differential Psychology after his retirement last year.

Dr Sarah Stanton, Lecturer in Psychology in the School of Philosophy, Psychology & Language Sciences, has received the Rising Star Award from the Association for Psychological Science (APS). It distinguishes outstanding APS members in the earliest stages of their research career.

Dr XinRan Liu, Postdoctoral Research Associate based in the School of Physics & Astronomy’s Particle Physics Experiment group, has been awarded a Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC) Leadership Fellowship in Public Engagement.

The Fellowships aim to support the very best scientists within STFC’s community and encourage and support leadership and capacity building for public engagement activities within STFC supported organisations.

Niamh Shortt, Professor of Health Geographies and Co-director of the Centre for Environment, Society and Health in the School of GeoSciences, has received the Royal Scottish Geographical Society President’s Medal. The award recognises the impact of geographers’ work on wider society to inspire and inform a greater geographical understanding of people, places and the planet. Niamh will also receive an Honorary Fellowship with her medal.