Celebrating our colleagues

Reading time: 2 minutes

Each fortnight bulletin highlights and celebrates the latest prizes awarded to our fellow staff members.

Juliette MacDonald, Professor of Craft History and Theory at Edinburgh College of Art (ECA) has been awarded a Hongqiao Friendship Award. Juliette is also the Director of ECA’s partnership with Shanghai International College of Fashion and Innovation located within Donghua University. The awards recognise outstanding dedication to economic and social development in the Shanghai district of Changning.

Wilson McLeod, Professor of Gaelic in the School of Literatures, Languages & Cultures, and Devi Sridhar, Professor of Global Public Health in the Usher Institute, have each been honoured with one of the Saltire Society’s six Fletcher of Saltoun Awards for 2020. The prestigious accolade recognises Scotland’s Greatest Contributors for going above and beyond. The Fletcher of Saltoun Awards are nominated by members of the Saltire Society, a non-political organisation that raises public awareness of Scotland’s distinct natural and cultural heritage in all its richness and diversity.

Nick Sheridan, Research Fellow in the School of Mathematics has been awarded a Philip Leverhulme Prize worth £100,000. The prize is awarded to researchers at an early stage of their careers whose work has had international impact and whose future research career is exceptionally promising.

David Webb, Christison Professor of Therapeutics and Clinical Pharmacology in the Centre for Cardiovascular Science, has been appointed CBE in recognition of his services to Clinical Pharmacology Research and Education.

Cathie Sudlow, Professor of Neurology and Clinical Epidemiology at the University, Director of the British Heart Foundation Data Science Centre, Health Data Research UK, and lately Chief Scientist of the UK Biobank has been appointed OBE for services to medical research.

Luke Boulter, Chancellor’s Fellow in the Institute of Genetics & Molecular Medicine, has been awarded the Patrick Neill Medal from the Royal Society of Edinburgh for his work on liver cancer.

Sarah McCafferty, Research Technician in the Genetics Core at Edinburgh Clinical Research Facility, was recognised in the Science Council’s recent CPD Awards for dedication and achievement in professional training and development.

Please get in touch with us to let us know about any awards you or your colleagues have received. You can email us at bulletin@ed.ac.uk.